No Mane, Ronaldo as PL announces player of the season award nominees

Sadio Mane was excluded from the list of eight nominees despite his enomous contribution to Liverpool’s quest for a quadruple this season. PHOTO/COURTESY.

The Premier League player of the season award nominees were Friday announced but surprisingly, without Senegal and Liverpool forward Sadio Mane.

This season, the Senegalese has made 33 league appearances scoring 15 goals and assisting twice.


Another surprise exclusion from the list is Manchester United’s Christiano Ronaldo.

United have had a season to forget but the five-time Ballon d’Or winner has been the shining light in the house full of darkness with 18 goals in 30 league matches. The 37 year-old has also twice been named as the Premier League’s player of the month.

Christiano Ronaldo did not make the cut according to the Premier League. PHOTO/TWITTER.

The list has eight players who include Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah.

Both De Bruyne and Salah have won the award before.

City and Liverpool have two players nominated, with Joao Cancelo and Trent Alexander-Arnold also included.

Liverpool’s duo of Trent Alexander-Arnold (L) and Mohamed Salah (R) have all been nominated for the ward. PHOTO/TWITTER.

Others are winger Jarrod Bowen of West Ham, Arsenal forward Bukayo Saka, Tottenham forward Son Heung-min and Southampton captain James Ward-Prowse.

City are top of the Premier League, leading title rivals Liverpool by three points with two games remaining.

Egypt’s Salah is leading the Golden Boot race with 22 goals, while De Bruyne has 15 goals and seven assists this season.

Both players were on the shortlist last season but lost to City defender Ruben Dias.

Kevin de Bruyne. Copyright ©️ Twitter.

To determine the winner, organisers count votes from the public on the Premier League website, combined with those of the 20 Premier League club captains and a panel of football experts.

Arsenal’s youngster Bukayo Sakka is among the eight nominees vying for the Premier League player of the season award.

Full List

• Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)

•Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

•Joao Cancelo (Manchester City)

•Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

•Jarrod Bowen (West Ham)

•Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

•Son Heung-min (Tottenham)

•James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)