EC declares NRM’s Muwonge winner of Kayunga LC 5 elections

NUP announces next course of action.


The Electoral Commission has declared NRM’s Andrew Muwonge as the winner of Kayunga District Chairperson by-election.

According to the District Returning Officer Jennifer Kyobutungi, Muwonge polled 31,830 while NUP’s Harriet Nakwedde garnered 31,308 votes in second.


After the declaration, Muwonge thanked the National Resistance Movement Chairperson [President Museveni], the party secretariat and the people of Kayunga for the victory.

NUP’s Harriet Nakwedde says she was robbed of her victory. COURTESY PHOTO.

On the other hand, Nakwedde contested the results and said she was rightful winner. Accompanied by other National Unity Platform officials, she vowed to go to court and reclaim her victory.

Apart from the two frontrunners, there were four other candidates. These included independent candidate Majid Nyanzi who came third with 1297 votes, followed by Musisi Boniface Bandikubi (Independent), 470, votes, Jamilu Kamoga, 279 and Democratic Party’s Anthony Wadimba got 158 votes.