Ikwaput returns as Lutalo names squad for Awcon qualifiers

The provisional squad is set to begin preparations for the game against Ethiopia in the 2022 Africa Women Cup of Nations Qualifiers.

Fazila Ikwaput acrobatically controls the ball between two opponents. PHOTO/ COURTESY.

Fazila Ikwaput, the Lady Doves sharp shooter has returned to the Uganda Crested Cranes fold after shedding off an injury that ruled her out of the just concluded Cosafa Women’s Championship.

The striker is among the 27 players that were summoned by head coach George Lutalo on Monday.


The provisional squad is set to begin preparations for the game against Ethiopia in the 2022 Africa Women Cup of Nations Qualifiers.

Uganda host the first leg on 20th October 2021 at St. Mary’s Stadium, Kitende before the reverse fixture in Bahir Dar six days later.
The winner on aggregate will face either South Sudan or Kenya at the final qualification hurdle.

The squad named is largely a composition of the team that played at the just concluded COSAFA Women’s Championship where Uganda featured as a guest team.

Of the 20 players that travelled to South Africa, 17 have returned.

Resty Kobusobozi and Rhoda Nanziri who were part of the provisional squad but didn’t make the final squad are also back.

Others are graduates from the U20 Women’s National Team that eliminated Kenya from the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup Qualifiers over the weekend.

On top of Fauzia Najjemba, Margaret Kunihira and Shamirah Nalugya who have previously played at the senior level, the rest of the other players from the U20 team are celebrating their first call up.

These include Daphine Nyayenga, Samalie Nakacwa, Sumaya Komuntale, Bira Nadunga and Aisha Nantongo.

The team will enter camp on Tuesday at Cranes Paradise Hotel, Kisaasi and then transfer to FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru the following day.

Some of the players who took part in the 2021 Cosafa Women’s Championship in South Africa. The Crested Cranes were eliminated at the group stage. PHOTO/ COSAFA MEDIA.



Ruth Aturo (UCU Lady Cardinals FC), Daisy Nakaziro (Lady Doves FC), Daphine Nyayenga(Lady Doves FC)


Viola Namuddu (Makerere University WFC), Shadia Nankya (UCU Lady Cardinals FC), Bira Nadunga (Olila High School WFC), Samalie Nakacwa (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Aisha Nantongo (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Sumaya Komuntale (Tooro Queens FC), Phoebe Banura (UCU Lady Cardinals FC), Asia Nakibuuka (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC),


Shamirah Nalugya (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Rhoda Nanziri (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Sheebah Zalwango (Asubo Gafford Ladies FC), Phiona Nabbumba (She Corporate FC), Resty Kobusobozi (Tooro Queens FC), Riticia Nabbosa (Lady Doves FC), Joan Nabirye (Vihiga Queens FC)


Hasifa Nassuna (UCU Lady Cardinals FC), Sharon Naddunga (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Resty Nanziri (Kampala Queens FC), Sandra Nabweteme (Fimleikafélag Hafnarfjarðar, Iceland), Laki Otandeka (New Jersey Copa FC, USA), Fauzia Najjemba (Kampala Queens FC), Margaret Kunihira (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Spencer Nakacwa (Lady Doves FC), Fazila Ikwaput (Lady Doves FC)

Head Coach – George Lutalo
Assistant Coach – Edward Kaziba
Goalkeeping Coach- James Magala
Team Doctor- Meble Katabalindwa
Equipment Manager – Prossy Nalwadda
Media Officer- Aloysius Byamukama