Bayo completes Uganda’s double over Rwanda | Qatar 2022

Despite the win, Uganda however remain second in the log with eight points behind Mali who beat Kenya 0-1 to reach ten points.

Fahad Bayo celebrate his goal against Rwanda on Sunday. PHOTO/FUFA.

Fahad Bayo was the savior again as Uganda Cranes Sunday completed a sweet double over the Amavubi Stars of Rwanda in the FIFA 2022 World Cup qualifies.

The striker who scored in the away game three days ago, headed in the only goal of a group E match played at the St Mary’s stadium, Kitende in the 21st minute.

Despite the win, Uganda however remain second in the log with eight points behind Mali who beat Kenya 0-1 to reach ten points.

Steven Mukwala won the corner, Isaac Muleme took it and boom! Bayo headed into an empty net.

Like in the first leg, the visitors enjoyed possession for the better part of the game but the Cranes resiliently fought on until the end of the 90 minutes.

As Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic, the Uganda Cranes coach celebrates his second victory since returning to National team job, his counterpart Vincent Mashami will argonizingly return to Kigali heart broken.

To be fair, by a neutral eye, the Amavubi Stars looked enterprising over the two legs but they lacked sharpness in the final third of the pitch.

Not to say the Cranes didn’t miss chances, but at least, the man who plies his trade in Israel at Ashidod proved to be the difference as Uganda continued to show supremacy over their East African neighbors.

With just a point and only two games remaining, Rwanda’s world cup dream is gone.

On the other hand, Uganda still stand a chance to qualify for Qatar 2022. They host Kenya before visiting leaders Mali in November, 2021.


Uganda Cranes starting XI. PHOTO/ COURTESY.

Uganda Cranes: Charles Lukwago(GK), Enock Walusimbi, Denis Iguma(c), Aziz Kayondo, Isaac Muleme, Timothy Awany, Taddeo Lwanga, Moses Waiswa, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Steven Mukwala, Fahad Bayo

Substitutions: Ismail Watenga (GK), Alionzi Nathian(GK), Innocent Wafula, Mustapha Kizza, Godfrey Wasswa, Livingstone Mulondo, Najib Fesali, Yunus Sentamu, Ibrahim Orit, Julius Poloto, Shafik Kagimu, Cromwell Rwothomio, Martin Kizza

Rwanda: Emery Mvuyekure (GK), Emmanuel Imanishimwe, Solomon Nirisalike, Rwatubyaye, Medi Kagere, Kevin Muhire, Rafael York, Jacques Tuyisenge, Yannick Mukunzi, Ange Mutsinzi, Djabel Manishimwe

Substitutions: Blaise Nishimwe, Muhadjir Hakizimana, Iradukunda Jean, Thierry Manzi, Eric Ndayishimiye(GK), Haruna Niyonzima, Oliver Niyonzima, Eric Rutanga.