Big omissions as Micho summons foreign based players

Three players who were part of the team in the previous two games of the campaign, have been dropped.


Uganda Cranes head coach Milutin “Micho” Sredojevic has made big but not surprising omissions as he named a squad of 32 players to take on the Amavubi Stars of Rwanda in the up-coming FIFA World Cup 2022 group E double header.

Among the 32, twenty four players ply their trade in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League are currently camped at the Cranes Paradise Hotel in Kisaasi. 


The foreign based players include Timothy Denis Awany, Fahad Bayo (Israel) who return to the team after missing the first two matches.

Others are Isima Watenga, Charles Lukwago, , Isaac Muleme, Moses Waiswa, Khalid Aucho, Tadeo Lwanga and Mustafa Kizza.

They start arriving in the country on Monday, October 4.

Three players who were part of the team in the previous two games of the campaign, have been dropped.

They are captain Emmanuel Okwi who’s at the moment without a club, TP Mazembe’s Joseph Ochaya and striker Derrick Nsibambi who secured a move to the Ethiopian topflight league this week.

Skipper Emmanuel Okwi (White) has been dropped by coach Milutin’ Micho’ Sredojevic. File/Courtesy Photo.

The omission of the three lads is however a no surprise to many a football fans in the country. On top of being club-less,Okwi has of late been off colour.

For Nsibambi, it was important that he’s given time to settle at his new home while Ochaya has, like his skipper had exhibited below average performances in the last games.
And given the competition in his position, it was inevitable to be axed.

It’s expected that after the arrival of the foreign legion of members, the Serbian Wolf will further trim the squad that will travel to Kigali.

The Cranes are occupying the third place with two points from two games while their opponents sit at the bottom of the log with just a point.



Charles Lukwago (Saint George), Isma Watenga (Chippa United), Mutakubwa Joel (Express FC), Alionzi Nafian (URA FC).


Willa Paul (Vipers SC), Wafula Innocent (KCCA FC), Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (Vipers SC) , Walusimbi Enock (Express FC), Iguma Denis (KCCA FC), Najib Fesali (URA FC), Mulondo Livingstone (Vipers SC), Waswa Geofrey (KCCA FC), Isaac Muleme (Victoria Zizkov), Mustafa Kizza (Montreal), Timothy Awany (Ashdod).


Byaruhanga Bobosi (Vipers SC), Kakooza Mahad (Express FC), Kagimu Shafik(URA FC), Karisa Milton (Vipers SC), Mato Rogers (KCCA FC), Poloto Julius (KCCA FC), Orit Ibrahim (Vipers SC), Kizza Martin (Express FC), Khalid Aucho (Young Africans), Taddeo Lwanga (Simba), Moses Waiswa (Supers Sport United).


Sentamu Yunus (Vipers SC), Mukwala Stephen (URA FC), Rwothomio Cromwell (URA FC), Anaku Sadat (KCCA FC), Charles Lwanga (KCCA), Fahad Bayo (Ashdod).