Qatar 2022: Kenya training hard ahead of encounter with Uganda

Kenya host Uganda on September 2, 2021, before taking on Rwanda on September 5 away in Kigali.


Kenya National football team, The Harambee Stars continue to prepare for the two 2022 World Cup Qualifiers back-to-back matches against Uganda and Rwanda.

The team on Thursday, August 26, 2021, held their first residential training session at the Utalii Grounds.


Among all local-based players who were summoned to the squad, only AFC Leopards influential forward Elvis Rupia failed to report to camp on Wednesday. He was replaced by Tusker’s Henry Meja, FKF, said.

After the team’s first residential training on Thursday, defender Eugene Asike said,
” Today’s training session was fruitful and exciting, we got to see how good our endurance is and I believe over the next training sessions we will improve and be in our best form for the crucial 2022 World Cup qualifier matches against Uganda and Rwanda.”

Photo Credit: FKF.

Like Asike, compatriot Lawrence Juma hopes to replicate his FKF Premier League form to  the national team. This, he said will help Harambee Stars get a positive result.

” I aim to transfer my good form from the league to the team and help attain a positive result in the crucial back-to-back 2022 World Cup qualifier matches against Uganda and  Rwanda,” said Lawrence Juma.

According to a program seen by this website, foreign-based players will start checking into camp from Monday, August 30, 2021.

Kenya host Uganda on September 2, 2021, before taking on Rwanda on September 5 away in Kigali.

The Uganda Cranes are currently in Ethiopia where they are set for a trial match against the home side on August 29,2021 as a way of getting ready for the task in Nyayo on September 2.

All photos by FKF.

The Harambee Stars in camp:


Ian Otieno (Zesco United, Zambia), James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya), Joseph Okoth (KCB, Kenya), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Brandon Obiero (Kariobangi Sharks)


Joseph Okumu (KAA Gent, Belgium), Eric Ouma (AIK, Sweden), Eugene Asike (Tusker, Kenya), Nashon Alembi (KCB, Kenya), Harun Shakava (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Andrew Juma (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Siraj Mohammed (Bandari, Kenya), Clyde Senaji (AFC Leopards, ), Frank Odhiambo (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Bolton Omwenga (Nairobi City Stars, Kenya), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Baraka Badi (KCB, Kenya)


Richard Odada (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia), Duke Abuya (Nkana, Zambia), Duncan Otieno (Lusaka Warriors, Zambia), Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka, Kenya), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Kevin Kimani (Wazito, Kenya), Patillah Omoto (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Enock Momanyi (FC Talanta, Kenya), Jackson Macharia (Tusker, Kenya), Eric Johanna (Jonkopings Sondra IF, Sweden) Boniface Muchiri (Tusker, Kenya), Abdalla Hassan (Bandari, Kenya)


Michael Olunga (Al-Duhail, Qatar), Masud Juma (Difaâ Hassani El Jadidi, Morocco), Cliffton Miheso (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Erick Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Henry Meja (Tusker), Samuel Onyango (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Benson Omalla (Gor Mahia, Kenya