Deputy Premier Kadaga to be sworn in tomorrow

The former Speaker of Parliament of Uganda was among the seventeen newly appointed ministers who never turned up to take the oath of office at Kololo Independence Grounds on Monday.

Rebecca Kadaga’s reign of Speakership came to an end in May 2021 after losing the seat to NRM favoured Jacob Oulanyah. COURTESY PHOTO.

The Rt. Hon. Rebbeca Kadaga will tomorrow afternoon be sworn in as the new First Deputy Premier and Minister of East Africa Community Affairs at State Lodge Nakasero.
The swearing in ceremony will be presided over by president Yoweri Museveni according to Linda Nabusayi the Presidential Press Secretary.

The former Speaker of Parliament of Uganda was among the seventeen newly appointed ministers who never turned up to take the oath of office at Kololo Independence Grounds on Monday.

President Yoweri Museveni and wife who is also the Minister of Education and Sports Janet Museveni arrive for the swearing in ceremony at the Kololo Independence Grounds on Monday| PPU.

Although there was no official reason given for their absence, reports indicated that some of the ministers failed to appear because they were contacts of COVID-19 victims and were in self-isolation, others are undergoing treatment while others had lost relatives among other reasons.

Apart from Rebecca Kadaga, others who missed the function were Minister of East African Affairs, Hilary Onek, the Minister for Relief, Disaster Preparedness & Refugees, Maria Goretti Kitutu the Minister for Karamoja Affairs, Judith Nabakooba the Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development and Cheptoris Mangusho, the Minister of Water and Environment.

Also in absence, were the Minister for Presidency, Babirye Milly Babalanda and Attorney-General, Kiryowa Kiwanuka because of their recent contact with COVID-19 victims. The Minister of Public Service, Muruli Mukasa and Foreign Affairs State Minister in Charge of Regional Affairs, John Mulimba also did not swear in because even during the vetting by Parliament they were indisposed.

Former FDC Vice President Joyce Sebugwawo Nabbosa takes oath of office as Minister of State for ICT|PPU.

Also not sworn in is Dr. Monica Musenero the Minister Office of the President Serviced in charge of Science, Technology and Innovation who lost a mother on Monday morning and the Minister of State designate for Luwero Triangle-Rwenzori Region) Alice Kaboyo whose appointment was rejected by the Appointments Committee because of her previous corruption scandal and subsequent conviction.

The others who didn’t take the oath are Fred Kyakulaga, the Minister of State for Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (Agriculture), Huda Olero, the Minister of State for Defense and Veteran Affairs (Veteran Affairs), Evelyn Anite, the Minister of State for Finance, Planning and Economic Development (Privatization and Investment), Henry Okello Oryem, the Minister of State for Foreign Affairs (International Affairs), Margaret Muhanga, the Minister of State for Health (Primary Health Care) and Victoria Rusoke, the Minister of State for Local Government.

In her communication however, Nabusayi was silent about the rest of the ministers’ fate.

On Tuesday, Kadaga who is also the Kamuli District woman representative, met staff of her new office and later hosted the now her boss Prime Minister Robinah Nabbanja at her home.

“It was a pleasure to meet the staff of the Ministry of East African Community at the Ministry offices , looking forward to the further implementation of the Treaty,” Kadaga tweeted.

Kadaga and her new boss Prime Minister Robinah Nabbanja. COURTESY PHOTO.

While posing for a photo with the new Prime Minister Kadaga tweeted again; “It was a pleasure hosting The Rt. Hon. Prime Minister, Rt. Hon. Robinah Nabbanja this afternoon.”