Byekwaso summons 40 for Cecafa challenge cup

According to organisers, the tournament is meant for players below 23 years of age. However, three players older than 23 are allowed to be included in each squad.

Most of the players summoned were part of the U-20 team that finished second in the 2020 Afcon in Mauritania| IMAGE RIGHTS- Fufa.

Morley Byekwaso, the Uganda Under 23 national team coach has named a 40 man squad for the 2021 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup to be hosted by Ethiopia.

According to organisers, the tournament is meant for players below 23 years of age. However, three players older than 23 are allowed to be included in each squad.


Consequently, the coach has summoned a number of seniors to take part in the preparation. It’s from among these that Uganda’s three players will be picked.

The senior players named are; Goalkeepers Watenga Ismail (Chippa United FC) and Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC), Striker Yunus Ssentamu (Vipers SC), defender Murushid Juuko (Express FC) and midfielder Saidi Kyeyune (unattached).

“The players will meet at FUFA House in Mengo on Friday 18th June 2021 at 8am and then head to Cranes Paradise Hotel in Kisaasi for residential camp,” Fufa Wednesday said on their website.

Early this week, CECAFA Executive Director Auka Gacheo announced that the Democratic Republic of Congo would compete in the Cup as guest team.
“DR Congo have requested to play and we have allowed them to play as a guest side,” said Gaheco.

KCCA FC coach Morley Byekwaso will be in charge of the team in Ethiopia| Photo Credit- KCCA FC.

Apart guests DRC and Uganda, the other countries that have already confirmed participation are; Eritrea, Djibouti, Sudan, South Sudan, Kenya, Tanzania, Zanzibar, Burundi, Rwanda, Somalia, and hosts Ethiopia.

Ethiopia will host the tournament between July 3-18, 221 in the town of Bahir Dar.

As a requirement, all member associations are mandated to contribute US$20,000 (UGX 70.5m) which among other functions, is expected to help the hosts meet some of organizational costs.

The Squad Summoned

Goalkeepers: Watenga Ismail (Chippa United FC), Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC), Otim Dennis (Express FC), Keni Saidi (SC Villa), Kibowa Eric (UPDF FC), Matovu Hassan Muyomba (KCCA FC)

Defenders: Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Begisa James Penz (UPDF FC), Walusimbi Enock (Express FC), Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (Vipers SC), Ndahiro Derrick (SC Villa), Kaddu George (Wakiso Giants FC), Juuko Murushid (Express FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC), Ssemakula Kenneth (BUL FC), Magambo Peter (KCCA FC), Mukundane Hillary (Mbarara City FC)

Midfielders: Byaruhanga Bobosi (Vipers SC), Kiggundu Derrick (Soltilo Bright Stars FC), Watambala Abdul Karim (Vipers SC), Kyeyune Saidi (Unattached), Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Ssenyonjo Hassan ( Wakiso Giants FC), Anukani Bright (KCCA FC), Mugulusi Isam (Busoga United FC), Kabonge Nicholas ( SC Villa), Salim Abdallah (SC Villa).

Forwards: Bogere Ivan (Wakiso Giants FC), Masereka Saddam (SC Villa), Poloto Julius (KCCA FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Yiga Nagib (Vipers SC), Kiwanuka Hakim (Proline FC), Ssentamu Yunus (Vipers SC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Anaku Sadat (KCCA FC), Ssebufu Frank (Wakiso Giants FC), Kambale Eric Kenzo (Express FC) and Lwanga Charles (KCCA FC).


Byekwaso Morley- Head Coach

Massa Simeon-Assistant Coach

Kiggundu Stephen Billy-Goalkeeping Coach

Mutyaba Bashir Team Manager

Ssewanyana Ivan-Team Doctor

Bwanika Lawrence- Media Officer

Mulondo Samuel-Kits Manager