My best XI of the StarTimes Uganda Premier League first round


Formation : 4:3:3

The curtains on the first round of the league came down on March 18, 2021 with 120 games played. The 16 league clubs have scored a total of 315 goals in the first round .We have seen seven different player scoring hattricks something which is rare in the Uganda Premier League.


It appears a more competitive season than the previous and a number of individuals have stood out so far.

Mathias Muwanga( Express FC)

A goal keeper will always be judged on how many goals he lets in and in the entire first round , Muwanga has conceded just 7. He may not be the classy ball- playing goalkeeper that many would love to see but one who has indeed gotten the job done in the first round.

Paul Willa( Vipers SC)

I am not abig fan of Paul Willa but I have learnt to appreciate him .He is one of the most consistent performers in Vipers and was at it again through the first round as he put up several outstanding displays .He managed to score  one of the best goals this season.

Benjamin Nyakoojo( URA FC)

Nyakoojo is one of the fast improving defenders in the league and he has been tremendous for the tax collectors. He is fast, reads the game well and energetic. On top of defending well, he also gets sometime and score goals.

Murushid Jjuko ( Express FC)

Murushid Jjuuko (White) has been pivotal to the Express FC backline| Express FC Media.

The former Simba SC defender has been massive for his side and has done the minister of defence role nicely. He is among the reasons the Red eagles have had the meanest defence in the first round. He  also scored a goal against BUL FC.

Gisan Galiwango ( Vipers SC)

Vipers left back Gisan Galiwango|COURTESY.

The left back has been involved in 9 goals for the club in the first round,scoring 1 and assisting 8 times . The roving left back has been poor at defending but he is an asset going forward.

Shafiq Kagimu( URA FC)

Shafiq Kagimu|URA FC IMAGE.

The captain has been consistent in his performances at the club.He has led by example and he is among the reasons why the tax collectors are table leaders with 36 points .The intelligent midfielder has 4 goals and 6 assists to his name.

Johnson Odongo( Police FC)

Johnson Odongo.

Forget his laid back attitude , the ball loves Odongo and he loves it back .The former Water FC player has been the fulcrum in the cops’ creative midfield department, scoring 5 goals and making 4 assists in the 10 games he has played in the first round.

Eric Kambale ( Express FC)

You many see him silent on the pitch but he is the rythm of the team going forward. Kambale has 3 goals and 5 assists to his name in the first round. The versatile forward is a joy to watch when he has the ball.

Brian Kalumba ( UPDF FC)

Brian Kalumba and his side UPDF FC have been a surprise package in the first round considering the army men are new comers from big league. Kalumba has been involved in almost every win UPDF FC has managed in the first 15 games. He is competing for the golden boot award on 7 goals , two goals below the top goal scorer Mukwala.

Brian Mululi Mayanja ( Police FC)

You can’t name the best forwards in the first round and leave out Mululi .The league debutant has been a surprise package to many of us . The former Big league topscorer has managed 8 goals and 5 assists in the first round .He scored 3 goals and provided two assists at Kitara fc and scored 5 goals and provided 3 assists at Police fc.

Steven Mukwala ( URA FC)

The fast and tricky forward has continued to develop and at URA FC, he has found a new home. With no doubt he is the best striker in the league currently. He is  the league top scorer with 9 goals from 15 games.

Wasswa Bbosa, the head coach of Express FC|Photo Credit: John Batanudde/Bata Images.

Coach: Wasswa Bbossa ( Express FC)

The Express FC gaffer has managed to restore the glory of the club. The Red Eagles lost only one game in the first half of the league and haven’t lost a game at home.

Honorable mentions:

Police FC defender Hassan Mahmood|Police FC.

Hassan Mahmood ( Police FC), Mubiru Isa( UPDF FC), Ashraf Mugume ( KCCA FC), Ronald Sekiganda( SC Villa), Ibrahim Nsimbe( MYDA), Paul Mucureezi ( Vipers SC) , Denis Rukundo( Police FC), Tom Ikara( Police FC), Hannington Ssebwalunyo( URA FC), Yunus Sentamu ( Vipers), Brian Majwega( URA FC), Samson Kirya(Wakiso Giants).