Uganda Hippos victorious over Tanzania in practice match


Uganda U-20 (The Hippos) 1-0 Tanzania U-20

Uganda U20 national team (Hippos) out-witted their Tanzanian counter parts during a build-up game played at the Chamazi sports complex in Dar es salaam on Wednesday, 3rd February 2021.


Richard Basangwa scored the lone strike of the well contested game in the 43rd minute.

Basangwa arrived at the right time, in the correct position to head home a well taken free-kick by midfielder Bobosi Byaruhanga.

Upon restart of the second half, Uganda maintained the pressure.

Thirteen minutes into the closing stanza, Uganda was awarded a penalty following a hand-ball call by the referee on defender Samuel Jackson.

Bukenya missed the resultant kick from the penalty spot in the 57th minute.

Uganda made a double change in the 65th minute. Steven Sserwadda and Joseph Kizza Bukenya were introduced for Najib Yiga and Ivan Bogere respectively.

Bukenya’s impact was felt when hit the cross bar with 13 minutes to play.

Uganda called for another double substitution in the final 10 minutes.

Andrew Kawooya and Samuel Ssenyonjo came on for Isma Mugulusi and Derrick Kakooza respectively.

There were two more changes for Uganda with Alpha Ssali taking over goal scorer Basangwa’s place and Faisal Wabyoona replacing Byaruhanga.

Uganda held onto the slim lead and won the game, a big boost to the technical team.

Both Uganda and Tanzania will represent the CECAFA region at the AFCON U20 finals to be hosted by Mauritania.

Uganda will travel to the AFCON U20 Finals in Mauritania on 10th February 2021.

Uganda Hippos is in Group A and will play against Mozambique in the first match on 15th February 2021.

The second match will be on 17th February against Cameroon before going head-to-head with the hosts Mauritania in the last group match on 20th February 2021.

Uganda U-20 XI Vs Tanzania U-20:

Jack Komakech (G.K), Gavin Kizito Mugweri (Captain), Azizi Kayondo, Musa Ramathan, Kenneth Semakula, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Najib Yiga, Isma Mugulusi, Derrick Kakooza, Ivan Bogere, Richard Basangwa


65’ Steven Sserwadda ON, Najib Yiga OUT

65’ Joseph Kizza Bukenua ON, Ivan Bogere OUT

80’ Andrew Kawooya ON, Isma Mugulusi OUT

80’ Samuel Ssenyonjo ON, Derrick Kakooza OUT

90’ Alpha Ssali ON, Richard Basangwa OUT

90’ Faisal Wabyoona ON, Bobosi Byaruhanga OUT

Subs Not Used: Delton Oyo, Denis Ssenyondwa, Joseph Kafumbe, James Begisa, Baligeya, Ivan Eyamu, Ivan Asaba, Davis Ssekajja.

(FUFA Media)