Afcon U-20: Here is Uganda Hippos final squad

The 25 players, plus eight officials leaves Monday morning for Tanzania aboard Uganda Airlines.


The National Under 20 team (the Hippos) coach Morley Byekwaso has named a 25 man squad that is slated to be part of a three team trial tournament in Tanzania.

The squad has three goalkeepers, seven defenders, nine midfielders and six strikers.

Byekwaso has kept the eighteen players that won the CECAFA Zonal Qualifiers and added seven others that include Sam Senyonjo (KCCA FC), Derrick Kakooza (Police FC), Davis Sekajja (Soltilo Bright Stars FC), Andrew Kawooya, (KCCA FC), Goalkeeper Delton Oyo (Busoga United FC) Simon Baligeya (Kibuli SS) and Ivan Eyamu (Mbarara City).

The 25 players, plus eight officials leaves Monday morning for Tanzania aboard Uganda Airlines.

The Hippos will play against Tanzania and Namibia in the Mini Tournament from 2nd-9th February before flying to Mauritania for the AFCON U20 Finals.

Uganda is in pool A and will play against Mozambique in the first match on 15th February 2021. The second match will be on 17th February against Cameroon before going head-to-head with the hosts Mauritania in the last group match on 20th February 2021.   

Full Contingent


Komakech Jack (18) (Ascent SA), Oyo Delton (Busoga United FC), Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala (SC Villa).


Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Semakula Kenneth (Busoga United FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC) Kafumbe Joseph (KCCA FC), Begisa James Penz (UPDF FC), Baligeya Simon (Kibuli SS), Abdul Azizi Kayondo (Vipers SC)


Mugulusi Isma (Busoga United FC), Yiga Najib (Vipers SC), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC) Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Eyamu Ivan (Mbarara City FC), Kawooya Andrew (KCCA FC), Asaba Ivan (Vipers SC), Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC), Wabyoona Faisal (Big Talent SA).


Bogere Ivan (Proline FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Bukenya Joseph Kizza (KCCA FC), Ssali Alpha Thierry (Proline FC).

Richard Ochom – Leader of Delegation

Jackson Nyiima  – Team Manager

Morley Byekwaso – Head Coach

Simeon Masaba – Assistant Head Coach

Yahaya Katumba – Team Doctor

Frank Bumpenje – Equipment officer

Alex Kasirye – Media Officer

James Ayebale – FUFA Delegate