Mckinstry: My players are ready for Chan

In the other two games, Uganda beat Zambia 2-0 and drew 1-1 with hosts Cameroon.

Uganda’s first IX against Niger|Fufa Media.

The Uganda Cranes coach Johnathan Mckinstry has said the just concluded four team Pre- Chan Min Tournament in Yaounde, Cameroon has instilled confidence in his players.
Mckinstry also said the tournament has been a learning platform for many of his boys.
“There are several things we have learnt from the Pre CHAN Mini Tournament. First, it was about testing all players by having a good time on the field and getting the final squad for the CHAN Final Tournament itself,” he said.

“We also have a number of our players who have not been here and have played CECAFA only. However there are some in the squad who have not even played at CECAFA,” Mckinstry added.


Mr Mckinstry believes his players have left Yaounde with a number of positives and this, he says has made them ready for the Chan finals which start on January 16 and end on February 7, 2021 in Cameroon.
“It has given them huge belief heading into the tournament and that they can compete at this level. We played three good teams Cameroon, Zambia and Niger.”

The Cranes summed up the Min Tournament with a 3-0 win over Niger on Thursday. Milton Karisa scored twice while Saidi Kyeyune netted the other.

In the other two games, Uganda beat Zambia 2-0 and drew 1-1 with hosts Cameroon.

The Cranes Friday left Yaounde for Douala, a base where they will pitch camp until kick off. Uganda is in Group C alongside Champions Morocco, Rwanda and Niger.

Uganda Cranes players leaving Yaounde for Douala|COURTESY PHOTO.

Uganda’s opening fixture is against regional rivals Rwanda on 18th January 2021, followed by a fixture against Togo on 22nd January and four days later will face Morocco.

The final 25 man Squad with clubs and shirt numbers in brackets:

Goalkeepers: Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC, 1), Mutakubwa Joel (Kyetume FC, 18), Alionzi Legason Nafian (URA FC, 19)

Ikara Tom (Police C, 20)

Defenders: Hassan Muhamud (Police FC, 2), Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (Vipers SC, 3), Mujuzi Musitafa (Kyetume FC, 4), Ssenjobe Eric (Police FC, 5), Iguma Denis (KCCA FC, 12), Willa Paul (Vipers SC, 15), Lwaliwa Halid (Vipers SC, 21), Mbowa Paul Patrick (URA FC, 24)

Midfielders: Mawejje Tonny (Police FC, 6), Kagimu Shafik Kuchi (URA FC, 8), Anukani Bright (KCCA FC, 14), Kyeyune Saidi (URA FC, 16), Byaruhanga Bobosi (Vipers SC, 22), Watambala Abdu Karim (Vipers SC, 25)

Forwards: Ojera Joackiam (URA FC, 7), Brian Aheebwa (KCCA FC, 9), Ocen Ben (Police FC, 10), Ssekajugo (Wakiso Giants FC, 11), Orit Ibrahim (Vipers SC, 13), Jagason Muhammad Shaban (Vipers SC, 17), Karisa Milton (Vipers SC, 23)