Mbalangu targets maiden Masaza Cup trophy for Kyaggwe

The tournament kicked off on Saturday with a 1-1 draw between holders Bulemezi and Butambala.


By Benon Kamala & Vicent Kakooza.

BUIKWE – Coach Hussein Mbalangu is optimistic he can guide Kyaggwe to its maiden Masaza Cup triumph.


Since the resumption of the Kingdom’s elite soccer competition in 2004, Kyaggwe has been trying all it could but a dream to get hold of the precious trophy has never been realized.

The 2020 edition is however unusual due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Unlike in the past where the competition has been held on a home and away basis, all games are being played at the Fufa Technical Centre in Njeru.

Mbalangu hopes holding the tournament on Kyaggwe soil (Njeru) can be an advantage to his side and hence leading to victory. “The good chance we have is that we are the hosts. So let us make history that will be remembered in future,” he told his players on Saturday.

Despite having the games taking place in Kyaggwe, Mbalangu and his boys may have less or no added advantage over the other teams as there will be no fans allowed in the stands to cheer on their players.
But the gaffer is hopeful the time for them to write history is now. “Let us utillise this opportunity to win the trophy.Chance comes once, it is our time,” Mbalangu stated.

Kyaggwe’s squad currently in camp in Buikwe|Benon Kamala.

Kyaggwe (Bukunja Warriors) are currently camping at Rays of Grace Football Academy in Buikwe District with a squad of 16 players undertaking an intensive training.
Mayombwe Gerrald, Esele Lazarus, Watmon Florences,Ssentongo Akibaru,Ssenoga Hussein,Jangeyambe Isaac,Kisejja Alex,Ssenteza Apollo are among the players in camp.

Others are; Wogute James Junior,Buga Moses Ojoaza,Muzuni Brian,Waako Ivan,Obele Ronald,Wanyama Allan Lauben,Lubanga Lawrence and Bithum
Nsumbiano Ronald.

Kyaggwe is Bulange group alongside Busiro, Buvuma and Buweekula. Their first test comes on December 28 when they take Buweekula at 3PM.

The tournament kicked off on Saturday with a 1-1 draw between holders Bulemezi and Butambala.

Bulemezi and Butambala teams as Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi ll officially kicked off the tournament on Saturday|COURTESY.

Former Winners:
2020- ?
2019 – Bulemezi

2018 – Singo

2017 – Gomba

2016 – Buddu

2015 – Singo

2014 – Gomba

2013 – Mawokota

2012 – Bulemeezi

2011 – Buluri

2010 – Not Held

2009 – Gomba

2008 – Kyadondo

2007 – Mawokota

2006 – Kooki

2005 – Mawokota

2004 – Gomba